Ready? Still Away With Me.

Child, stay still!” a frustrated parent admonishes their child.

Jesus says in Psalms 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God.”

And my favorite found in Mark 4:39:  “Peace is still.”

Stillness. The word is easy to say, but hard to implement.  Why?  The act of stillness means obviously has different meanings to different people. By definition, still means immobile (adjective) or not making a sound, calmness (noun).  From the various articles I read being still means if the mind is still, the body will follow: the two concepts have to be congruent in order to really work.

But here’s the challenge and I feel like a whiner:  I have to practice being still! For me, I had an experienced that “forced me into stillness.”  By nature, I’m a type a personality, the kind of person who enjoys being/staying busy. Busy in my world equates to productivity.  My mind is always on Go!

Then came the crash! Bam! All my so called plans were null and void. My personal projects and goals were being met. And horribly for me, I don’t have the incentive to write. Call it Writer’s block or temporarily burn out, but I needed to really rest, mentally, emotionally and physically. Inwardly, I wrestled with stillness but as I stated earlier, life circumstances such as death forced me to just, well, become still.

And apparently, I’m not alone in this unfamiliar state of stillness.  Jesus clearly gives us a directive to Be still.  STOP!   Martha Beck, author of the Joy Diet, has dedicated a chapter appropriately entitled NOTHING.. She says: “Doing nothing is the most productive activity you will ever undertake.”

Truth be known, I learned that Stillness requires two things: Lots of Patience and Practice.  Hip-Hop Mogul Russell Simmons, who wrote “Success Through Stillness, Mediation Made Simple” stated on Oprah, “We have to learn in order to quiet the mind, we have to quiet the monkey chatter in our heads.”

So what’s th secret to stillness/mediation success?  Simmons who was featured in Black Doctor. org article  suggests:  Commit and Commit again.  First, he says there’s no “right way” to mediate. Basically, he says find a comfortable time, space to get quite and then set an alarm. “Eventually, your mind will relax, and you’ll gain the ability to let go of unwanted thoughts, worries, or frustrations. If you still find it too challenging, Simmons suggests toughening up: My daughter started at nine, and if she can do the twenty minutes, so can you.”

Yes, I CAN!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

