C’mon Let’s Celebrate: Women!

 

 

Today is March 8, 2016. Do you know what this day means?

Crickets.

Blank face.

Silence.

In my mind, I hear the theme song of Jeopardy.

You’re not alone if you’re stumped. Who knew that today would be a day of recognition?

Today is International Women’s Day. Feel better?

To be honest, I didn’t know either. But I do remember years ago, I heard about it, but forgot about it.

Maybe the following promotion would help raise awareness of the importance of the day using:

  • Media Announcements
  • Announcements in Women’s Magazines (and perhaps there is/are)
  • Women programs featuring the holiday and women’s achievements shown on that day
  • Community recognition programs

But come to think about this International Women’s Day recognition, it historically follows Black History Month. So, then I have this other thought which is my thought and my unapologetic opinion as I ponder the dynamics of history.

In schools, American history is taught year round.

Black history is recognized in February–a month long.

And International Women’s Day is just one day? Hummmm, I wonder about that.

What’s wrong with this picture?  To be fair, if schools, parents and the community are including the contributions of women in American history and during Black History Month, I applaud their efforts.

So, what exactly is International Day and what’s its purpose/goal? This is the information I found on Google.

  • International Women’s Day (IWD) has been observed since in the early 1900’s
  • International Women’s Day (March 8) is a global day celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women. The day also marks a call to action for accelerating gender parity.

Another interesting fact, I learned from reading this article is that no  one person, group,  or government among others can take full recognition for starting International Women’s Day. Gloria Steinem, a women’s right activist and journalist defines the true essence of International Women’s Day.

“The story of women’s struggle for equality belongs to no single feminist nor to any one organization but to the collective efforts of all who care about human rights.”

I must say that I am ecstatic that Google’s creative and informative Doodle gave women’s of all nationalities/backgrounds a chance to express their visions/dreams for their future. In this video, they clearly and boldly articulated what how they plan to impact the world in their future occupations, or how they are doing it now.

     The only thing missing which I waited to hear: “I’m strive/going to one day be the first female President.”

     If you haven’t seen it, go to Google and click on the start button.

    Spoiler alert: It’ll raise your consciousness and maybe feel a sense of pride and joy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

